Printer
Downy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DOWNY Downy Ball®

DOWNY Downy Ball®

Make softness simpler with the Downy Ball—the easier and more convenient way to add fabric softener to your wash. Just pour your favorite Downy fabric softener into the ball, seal it, and drop it in. The ball then automatically releases fabric softener during the rinse cycle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.607 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (168 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
11
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
43
116 out of 168(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Downy does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Downy Ball®
Review 21 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Galloway, NJ, USA

GREAT PRODUCT

May 14, 2015
I have just recently started to use a downy ball and ultra downy fabric softener and it had made my clothes come out fresh and clean! I have used other fabric softness and they do not compare to downy and the ball makes it that much easier! I pre fill my balls and just throw them in my loads daily! recommend to anyone with a lot of laundry daily it gives your clothes a fresh feeling and smell every time.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
taylor, mi

downy ball

December 20, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I love this product it has been a great help to those of us that do not have a washer that has a softener holder. ours was lost in a move about 6 years age and it has drove me nuts and I could not find one in the stores anywhere. I looked on line and found them on the P & G site and bought 2. This is the way my pups feel about the cloths after they feel after their beds have been washed with downy.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
WI

Junk

June 17, 2012
The only reason I rated this with one star is that it won't allow zero! I didn't discover until after my washer was delivered that there was no fabric softener dispenser. It did, however, come with a Downy Ball. I can't believe this product passed anybody's quality standards. Water gathers inside the ball and drains on to clothes after the final spin cycle ends. Also, occasionally does not completly empty during rinse cycle. I've never been a fan of fabric softener sheets, but I really have no other option.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer Care June 19, 2012
I'm sorry your Downy Ball didn’t open in the rinse cycle and release the fabric softener. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy or that the load was too large to allow the ball to circulate freely. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. If you have further questions, please call us at (800) 688-7638. Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Waco, TX

RVing

May 26, 2012
I have had my Downy Ball for many years. I use it at home but the best use is when we are RVing. My only problem is it is wearing out and I can not find any more!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Grand Rapids, MI

LOVED mine!

November 29, 2011
I got a Downy Ball immediately when they came out. It seems I even got the first one free? I am HORRIBLE at catching the rinse cycle! That ball helped so much. I no longer forgot my softener! Alas, it wore out. I bought another. I used one for every load until (YAY HUBBY!) I was given an HE washer and dryer. I still have my ball though. Just in case!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Denver

Doesn't open

November 12, 2011
I used the Downy ball a few years ago and had no problems with it. I bought another one about 2 months ago, and I would say it doesn't open on about 8 out of 10 washes. Good thing I still have a large pack of dryer sheets from Costco, because that is what I have to use instead. I love the way my laundry smells the few times that the ball does work, but due to the high failure rate, I think I will stick with the sheets. I live in dry Colorado, so I need all of the help I can get with static!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:JennyDowny TeamNovember 15, 2011
I am sorry the Downy ball is not opening. Please give us a call at (800) 688-7638 so we can help.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Louisville KY

LOVE the Downy Ball

April 10, 2011
After years of having a washer with a built in dispenser, I'm back to a very basic washer and dryer. I was worried with all the new technology, the Downy ball didn't exist anymore. I was excited and relieved to find on at the grocery store. It is wonderful. I use dryer sheets for every load, but somethings, like the kids socks and blankets, they need the addition of Downy.
The only time it hasn't worked is when my 9 yo tries to help and overloads the washer.... but then, nothing has gotten clean anyway, so I can redo the load in pieces and the ball works fine.
I grew up with the Downy ball, and I am so glad to have one now for my kids clothes.
Thank you Downy!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Downy Ball®
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
stars
Chicago

Didn't work the way it should

April 3, 2011
I bought the Downy Ball because the fabric softener dispenser on our machine is broke & I'm waiting on a repair man to come out & look at it. I added the Downy to the ball and tossed it in with the clothes as directed. When I took the clothes out the ball was empty (except for a little bit of water), but I noticed that none of the clothes were soft and didn't have that "April Fresh" smell. I did another load and went down to check on it, just as the rinse cycle was about to start (the tub had just started to fill with water). The ball was already empty and there was no Downy anywhere to be found. Not sure how it's supposed to work, how it "knows" when to release the Downy but it didn't work any better than if I had just added Downy to the washtub at the start of the washing. Guess if I want my clothes to smell "April Fresh" I'll have to buy Tide w/Downy while I'm waiting on the repairs (I don't normally use Tide)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer CareApril 4, 2011
Hate to hear you're clothes aren't soft while using the Downy Ball. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy or that the load was too large to allow the ball to circulate freely. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. If you continue to have problems, please give us a call at 1-800-688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Md

Free sample, great quality

June 13, 2016
I recieved the downy ball for free to try and review honestly. At the time of my request, I did not realize it was for top loading washers only, so i used it in a friends washer and left it for them to try as well. I thought this product worked very well for dispensing the fabric softener equally and efficiently with less mess and build up. I do not use softener with every load normrally, but I used it specifically with certain clothing and household fabrics like towels and I was impressed with the quality.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Conroe, Tx

Fast, Simple and Effective

May 16, 2016
I love the way fabric softener works, but up until now I never wanted to use it because I did not want to have to pay attention to when I needed to add it, or remember to put it in the right spot. With the Downy Ball I can just add the amount I need to the ball, drop it in, and then sit back and relax. It works perfect every time. Plus it makes my clothes come out all soft and who doesn't love soft clothes.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Knoxville, TN

Works great

May 12, 2016
The fabric softener dispenser in my washing machine broke and this is the perfect solution. It's easy to use. Just put the fabric softener in the ball, seal it, put it in my washing machine, and turn on my machine. Works great!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Augusta, GA, USA

Downy Ball

May 8, 2015
I love the downy ball, it makes your clothes soft and cuddly. I use it with every wash .
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Ontario Canada

The amazing downy ball!!!!

April 28, 2015
I LOVE LOVE LOVE the downy ball!!!!! I'm disabled and it has saved numerous steps back to the washer to add my fabric softener. I recommend it to anyone that craves the luscious scents that downy offers!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Cumberland Furnace, TN 37051, USA

Miracle Ball

April 27, 2015
I love this laundry ball. I was so tired of missing getting my fabric softer in the washer in time. With the laundry ball I just put my fabric softer in when I load my washer and don't feel like I'm chained to my laundry room.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
cornelia ga

awesome

April 22, 2015
i have used this product before and loved it it helps keep the softener separate from the other laundry soap
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Trimble, TN

Our Downy Ball

April 21, 2015
We have have our Downy dispenser ball for years. It is unbelievably durable and a simple way to add Downy in our old washing machine.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Downy Ball®
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
San Antonio, TX, USA

Most Useful laundry accessory

April 21, 2015
I liked how i can toss it in the washer and i don't have to worry about it anymore!. It does a great job!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Atlanta

It's a mess!

December 9, 2014
Everytime I use the Downy Ball it creates a mess. The ball opens at inappropriate times and often continues to leak fabric soften after the rinse cycle. I often have towels with blue spots on them when they come out of the dryer. I'm not a fan!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Downy Ball®
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stars
Saginaw MI

Love the Downy Ball

December 2, 2014
I love the downy ball my daughter wants one but I can't find them any where. She looked in Ohio where she lives and I have all my friends looking for me. She used to have one and lost it in her many moves and now we can'
t find one.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Downy Ball®
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stars
rockford ilinois

its alright :)

May 27, 2012
I bought mine when I was living somewhere with a top load washer but since I've moved I use the front load washers at the laundrymat. I loved my downy balls though :) it seemed to work good. At the top load washers at the laundry mat sometimes it didn't break open but I did fill it up with a lot of clothes. I really have no complaints the leftover water/softener mix causes some grimeyish residue and its hard to clean out but no big deal :)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
«prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next»