Printer
Downy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DOWNY Downy Ball®

DOWNY Downy Ball®

Make softness simpler with the Downy Ball—the easier and more convenient way to add fabric softener to your wash. Just pour your favorite Downy fabric softener into the ball, seal it, and drop it in. The ball then automatically releases fabric softener during the rinse cycle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.585 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
5 stars
88
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
41
109 out of 159(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Downy does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Downy Ball®
Review 21 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
ny ny

Don't waste your time or money

June 4, 2012
The ball came with my new Maytag washer as it does not have a internal dispenser. Sounds like s good idea but it doesnt work. Either it pops open during the wash cycle or it does not empty completely. It just is not a keeper. Go for the fabic dryer sheets instead.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:JennyDownyJune 6, 2012
I am sorry to hear the Down ball is not opening or emptying properly. We would like to get more details from you. Please give us a call at (800) 688-7638 so we can help.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Washington, DC

JUNK!

May 11, 2012
The Downy ball is JUNK! Bought one for my old washer and it never worked; finally threw it away. We bought a new house and have a brand new washer with no dispenser so I decided to give the Downy ball another try. I've washed three loads of laundry of varying sizes and all three loads had to be rewashed because this (STILL) worthless contraption left softener all over my clothes. I've tossed it in on top of the clothes, before and after the basin fills, and even tried tossing it in at the bottom before loading clothes. NOTHING works! What a waste of money!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer Care May 18, 2012
I'm so sorry you had trouble with the Downy Ball. We wouldn't expect this to happen and would like to trouble shoot to find out what happened. Please give us a call at (800) 688-7638 and we'll be happy to help!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Illilnois

Useless piece of plastic

March 26, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I just purchased a new washer which does not have a fabric softener dispenser built in as my last one did. Your Downy ball has ruined ,in one week, so many pieces of my clothing and vintage linens (which are irreplaceable and very expensive) I cannot even count. I have thrown away many garments and linens because the Downy ball must have opened after machine stopped, not during rinse as it should have. I just found this site today. I called where I purchased new washer from and was told to buy another Downy ball. Fabric softener was left on my clothes and linens during the laundering process. Could it be the washers problem being as the washer rinse water is supposed to open this ball? (I have read your reply to some of the other reviews). If the washer rinse water did hit the ball, maybe the ball would open when it is supposed to? Fabric softener ruins fabric. You are lucky if you ever get this stain out, particularly if the fabric has been put in dryer. Who has the time to examine every piece of laundry to see if there is fabric softener on it because of ball not working properly? I do have button on my washer that has to be placed on "on" if fabric softener is used. A couple of times it actually did work correctly and I did not get fabric softener on my clothes. I think I have already lost the amount I paid for my brand new washer in ruined items due to the fabric softener ball. I am very upset. I would hope it would be the washer's problem, my washer is still under waranty.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:JennyDowny TeamMarch 29, 2012
We are here to help. We would like to ask you some additional questions about how you have used the Downy Ball. Please give us a call at (800) 688-7638 at your convenience.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
indiana

DID NOT WORK

March 23, 2012
I filled it, sealed it, threw it on top of the load, and it didn't even open! Did I do something wrong? I am just glad I had some dryer sheets leftover.. I was very excited to use the downy ball, too.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:JennyDowny TeamMarch 27, 2012
Sounds like you are using it correctly. Give us a call at (800) 688-7638 so we can help.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Carrollton, TX

My Downy Ball doesn't work

November 20, 2011
I have used a Downy Ball for years and years and loved it. 3 weeks ago I moved to a new apartment with a brand new washer and dryer. The first night I did a load of laundry and used my Downy Ball. It was a small load of laundry and I used the Large setting on the washer. When the washer finished I noticed that all of the Downy liquid was in the bottom of the washer. I thought it was a fluke and didn't think much of it when I did the next load. Unfortunately, the result was the same. I am a single person and I do not have large loads of laundry. I have since done many loads of laundry, all with the same result. I don't understand why my Downy Ball has suddenly stopped working properly. The ball is clean with no gunk or residue on any part of it. I guess I have to give up on my Downy Ball.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer Care November 22, 2011
I'm sorry your Downy Ball didn’t open in the rinse cycle and release the fabric softener. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. If you still have further problems, give us a call at (800) 688-7638. Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Denver

Doesn't open

November 12, 2011
I used the Downy ball a few years ago and had no problems with it. I bought another one about 2 months ago, and I would say it doesn't open on about 8 out of 10 washes. Good thing I still have a large pack of dryer sheets from Costco, because that is what I have to use instead. I love the way my laundry smells the few times that the ball does work, but due to the high failure rate, I think I will stick with the sheets. I live in dry Colorado, so I need all of the help I can get with static!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:JennyDowny TeamNovember 15, 2011
I am sorry the Downy ball is not opening. Please give us a call at (800) 688-7638 so we can help.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
tn

try and find a new downey ball in the stores

October 24, 2011
you can find on line if you want to pay almost $7 for shipping for a $1.49 downey ball....really?
9 of 17 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer Care October 26, 2011
I'm so sorry you're having trouble finding the Downy Ball in your area. We'd really like to help. Please give us a call at (800) 688-7638 when you have a chance. Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
High Point, NC

This one isn't working the same

September 25, 2011
I have always loved the Downey Ball since it came out..I purchased a new one when I moved into my apartment. And this is the first one, that the cork, or stopper, (not sure what you call it) did not come out. All the others that I had, you would pull the stopper completely out, fill, and push it back in..I have been so unhappy with this one. When I fill it, and toss it in, so many times, the softner doesn't all come out, and most of the time, when I pull it out of laundry, it is opened, but none of the fabric softner comes out. Or what is even worse..is the fabric softner might come all out onto one of the articles of clothing..and if I didn't notice it, until I fold my laundry, I have a big spot of blue on an article of clothing, or a towel or what ever I maybe washing. I had complained about this, and they were nice enough to send my coupons to buy another one. But I didn't...because all the Downey Balls are just like that.. I just want one that was made like it was when it first came out. Is that possible?
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer Care September 27, 2011
I'm sorry the Downy Ball isn't opening like it should. We'd like to learn more about what's happening and make a report to our quality team. Can you give us a call at (800) 688-7638 when you have a chance? Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Wisconsin

Why can't I find the Downy Ball in stores?

August 10, 2011
I recently moved and left my Downy Ball behind somewhere. Now I need to buy another one. I thought I would go to my local Walmart and pick one up but to my surprise I cannot find them anywhere! I have looked at all the chain stores; Target, Walgreens, CVS, & Kmart and nothing! I clicked the "buy online" feature and it showed that the Downy Ball should be at the stores I went. So I guess my question is this: Is the Downy Ball only available for sale online and not in stores? And if so, why? it's crazy!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Texas

Piece of junk

July 6, 2011
I can't believe that such a tiny and inexpensive product could cause me so much frustration! The first time I used the Downy Ball it worked like a champ. Every time after that, either it didn't open or it opened near the end of the wash cycle spilling softener all over my now clean clothes requiring me to wash them yet again. It seems that I am not the only one having trouble with this product as evidenced by other testimonials on this site. I tried what "Dee" said and cleaned it out multiple times to no avail. Just got done throwing it away out of frustration. The only good thing I can say about it is that it didn't cost very much so it was very easy to throw away and not cringe about the money being wasted. I'd be willing to give it another try but I'm spending a single cent on another one.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:MonikaDowny TeamJuly 8, 2011
Sorry your Downy Ball didn't do the job. I love my Downy ball and would have to use sheets without it. We're happy to make it right for you. Just give us a call at: 1-800-688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
san diego, ca

ruined several loads of clothes

June 27, 2011
I have used the Downy Ball for probably 10 years now without ever having a single complaint. My old Downy Ball was misplaced in a recent move so I was forced to pick up a new one. The replacement I purchased failed to open properly on three attempted loads of laundry leaving puddles of downy on my clothes. Thinking it was surely just a one off defective item, I sprung for another one. Same results. I don't know what was changed in the design or molding of the downy ball but it no longer works. All it manages to do is leave stains of Downy on my clothes. Save your time and clothes and pass this product up!!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer Care June 30, 2011
I'm sorry your Downy Ball didn’t open in the rinse cycle and release the fabric softener. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy or that the load was too large to allow the ball to circulate freely. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. If you have further questions, please give us a call at 1-800-688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
IL

Piece of Junk

April 17, 2011
This product is a piece of junk. I've ruined more close using them. They don't open up in the wash and they stain your clothes leaving fabric softner on them. You assume that they worked the way they are suppose to so you don't check before you dry the clothes and then they are stained. I would not recommend anyone use them. I am throwing mine away.
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer CareApril 20, 2011
Hate to hear the trouble you're having with the Downy Ball. I think it's best we talk to help and learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7638. Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Libby, Montana

This was horrible

April 10, 2011
I have purchased the Downy ball in the past and found it to be excellent. I understand they wear out and have to be replaced from time to time however this time was horrible. I purchased my Downy ball maybe a month and a half ago. I took it out of a load of clothes and found the whole side was broken out. I was so disgusted that it broke and that it happened so quickly after I bought it. Now I am stuck waiting for the rinse cycle to add the Downy.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer CareApril 19, 2011
We have strict quality standards and wouldn't expect the Downy Ball to break. We'd like to help and learn more about what happened. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Jersey

Not Working

March 31, 2011
I've used the downy ball in the past and had zero problems. Now that I'm stuck with a washer with out a dispenser I buy the product and it's HORRIBLE. IT HAS NOT WORKED SINCE I BOUGHT IT TWO WEEKS AGO!! It either will open and ALL of the softener stays in the ball or it doesn't bother to open at all!!!! I have no choice but to use a product like this but, IT'S NOT WORKING AS PROMISED!! I've gone out of my way to make sure I am using it properly. I am at my wits end, what else can I do??!!
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer CareApril 4, 2011
I'm sorry your Downy Ball didn’t open in the rinse cycle and release the fabric softener. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy or that the load was too large to allow the ball to circulate freely. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. If you continue to have problems, please give us a call at 1-800-688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
california

It did not work

March 18, 2011
I bought one of the Downy balls today and when I used it the ball did open but the fabric softener did not come out in the rinse cycle.
Response from Downy:DeeConsumer CareMarch 21, 2011
I'm sorry your Downy Ball didn’t open in the rinse cycle and release the fabric softener. Our goal is to produce high quality products that consistently delight our consumers and I'm sorry this wasn't your experience. Please be assured I'm sharing your comments with the rest of our Downy Team. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy or that the load was too large to allow the ball to circulate freely. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. Hope this helps!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Sunny Florida

Has yet to open in a wash cycle

March 7, 2011
I had used Downy balls in the past, when they were first released, and I loved them. I never had a single problem with one. I purchased one recently from Wal*Mart and after 5 loads of clothes of varying size, weight, and temperature, the ball has yet to open even once. I am using a basic GE top loading washer, using Downy fabric softener, and following all instructions. The only nice thing I can say is at least I only wasted $1.27 since I purchased at a local Wal*Mart.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:MonikaDowny TeamMarch 10, 2011
We're happy to take care of your Downy Ball for you. It's unusual to have that happen. Please call us with the Downy Ball handy at: 1-(800) 688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Lincoln, NE

Doesn't work!!

February 7, 2011
Figured I would give it a try. The ball is very cheaply made. Tried using it five different times and it never released the fabric softner during the load. Got one of my friends who uses the ball try it out and it didn't work either. Bought a different ball and it still doesn't work.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:MonikaDowny TeamFebruary 10, 2011
I love my Downy ball. There must be something wrong. Please call us with your Downy Ball handy at: 1-800-688-7638. We can try to figure out why it's not working well for you and your friend.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars

Ruined my capris!!

November 20, 2010
I have only worn these once! Took load and put in dryer. Well when load was done in dryer I pulled clothes out to fold,etc. And all over the right leg of my capris are stained!! Dried in! They are brown so I didn't notice when still wet. This is going in trash!
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:MonikaDowny TeamNovember 29, 2010
I'm sorry you feel your capris are ruined. We're happy to help, please call us at: 1-800-688-7638. We can help with tips on how to remove fabric softener stains.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Urbandale, IA

June 6, 2010
I hate the Downey Ball. The only reason why I keep using it is because I don't have the time to babysit my washing machine so I can add the fabric softener. It stains my clothes and doesn't open half of the time. I highly recommend using Dawn to remove the stains, works awesome!! Although I shouldn't have to wash my clothes twice just to wear them.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Downy Ball®
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
FL

Downey Ball

April 19, 2010
Did anyone but me have trouble with the Downey staining their clothes i.e. not mixing in the rinse water? Perhaps I have to use the clear Downey with no dye.
23 of 32 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
«prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next»