Printer
Downy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DOWNY The Downy Ball

DOWNY The Downy Ball

Make softness simple with our easy-to-use fabric softener dispenser. Simply fill it up and toss on top of your fabrics before each load.
Average Customer Rating:
3.508 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
9
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
34
89 out of 130(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Downy does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for The Downy Ball
Review 21 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
TM
High Point, NC

This one isn't working the same

September 25, 2011
I have always loved the Downey Ball since it came out..I purchased a new one when I moved into my apartment. And this is the first one, that the cork, or stopper, (not sure what you call it) did not come out. All the others that I had, you would pull the stopper completely out, fill, and push it back in..I have been so unhappy with this one. When I fill it, and toss it in, so many times, the softner doesn't all come out, and most of the time, when I pull it out of laundry, it is opened, but none of the fabric softner comes out. Or what is even worse..is the fabric softner might come all out onto one of the articles of clothing..and if I didn't notice it, until I fold my laundry, I have a big spot of blue on an article of clothing, or a towel or what ever I maybe washing. I had complained about this, and they were nice enough to send my coupons to buy another one. But I didn't...because all the Downey Balls are just like that.. I just want one that was made like it was when it first came out. Is that possible?
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care September 27, 2011
I'm sorry the Downy Ball isn't opening like it should. We'd like to learn more about what's happening and make a report to our quality team. Can you give us a call at (800) 688-7638 when you have a chance? Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
M Carrizales
Wisconsin

Why can't I find the Downy Ball in stores?

August 10, 2011
I recently moved and left my Downy Ball behind somewhere. Now I need to buy another one. I thought I would go to my local Walmart and pick one up but to my surprise I cannot find them anywhere! I have looked at all the chain stores; Target, Walgreens, CVS, & Kmart and nothing! I clicked the "buy online" feature and it showed that the Downy Ball should be at the stores I went. So I guess my question is this: Is the Downy Ball only available for sale online and not in stores? And if so, why? it's crazy!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Matt
Texas

Piece of junk

July 6, 2011
I can't believe that such a tiny and inexpensive product could cause me so much frustration! The first time I used the Downy Ball it worked like a champ. Every time after that, either it didn't open or it opened near the end of the wash cycle spilling softener all over my now clean clothes requiring me to wash them yet again. It seems that I am not the only one having trouble with this product as evidenced by other testimonials on this site. I tried what "Dee" said and cleaned it out multiple times to no avail. Just got done throwing it away out of frustration. The only good thing I can say about it is that it didn't cost very much so it was very easy to throw away and not cringe about the money being wasted. I'd be willing to give it another try but I'm spending a single cent on another one.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By MonikaDowny TeamJuly 8, 2011
Sorry your Downy Ball didn't do the job. I love my Downy ball and would have to use sheets without it. We're happy to make it right for you. Just give us a call at: 1-800-688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
mike.T
san diego, ca

ruined several loads of clothes

June 27, 2011
I have used the Downy Ball for probably 10 years now without ever having a single complaint. My old Downy Ball was misplaced in a recent move so I was forced to pick up a new one. The replacement I purchased failed to open properly on three attempted loads of laundry leaving puddles of downy on my clothes. Thinking it was surely just a one off defective item, I sprung for another one. Same results. I don't know what was changed in the design or molding of the downy ball but it no longer works. All it manages to do is leave stains of Downy on my clothes. Save your time and clothes and pass this product up!!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care June 30, 2011
I'm sorry your Downy Ball didn’t open in the rinse cycle and release the fabric softener. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy or that the load was too large to allow the ball to circulate freely. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. If you have further questions, please give us a call at 1-800-688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Freckles
IL

Piece of Junk

April 17, 2011
This product is a piece of junk. I've ruined more close using them. They don't open up in the wash and they stain your clothes leaving fabric softner on them. You assume that they worked the way they are suppose to so you don't check before you dry the clothes and then they are stained. I would not recommend anyone use them. I am throwing mine away.
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer CareApril 20, 2011
Hate to hear the trouble you're having with the Downy Ball. I think it's best we talk to help and learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7638. Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
babygirlsmom28
Libby, Montana

This was horrible

April 10, 2011
I have purchased the Downy ball in the past and found it to be excellent. I understand they wear out and have to be replaced from time to time however this time was horrible. I purchased my Downy ball maybe a month and a half ago. I took it out of a load of clothes and found the whole side was broken out. I was so disgusted that it broke and that it happened so quickly after I bought it. Now I am stuck waiting for the rinse cycle to add the Downy.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer CareApril 19, 2011
We have strict quality standards and wouldn't expect the Downy Ball to break. We'd like to help and learn more about what happened. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Anonymous
Jersey

Not Working

March 31, 2011
I've used the downy ball in the past and had zero problems. Now that I'm stuck with a washer with out a dispenser I buy the product and it's HORRIBLE. IT HAS NOT WORKED SINCE I BOUGHT IT TWO WEEKS AGO!! It either will open and ALL of the softener stays in the ball or it doesn't bother to open at all!!!! I have no choice but to use a product like this but, IT'S NOT WORKING AS PROMISED!! I've gone out of my way to make sure I am using it properly. I am at my wits end, what else can I do??!!
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer CareApril 4, 2011
I'm sorry your Downy Ball didn’t open in the rinse cycle and release the fabric softener. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy or that the load was too large to allow the ball to circulate freely. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. If you continue to have problems, please give us a call at 1-800-688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Anonymous
california

It did not work

March 18, 2011
I bought one of the Downy balls today and when I used it the ball did open but the fabric softener did not come out in the rinse cycle.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer CareMarch 21, 2011
I'm sorry your Downy Ball didn’t open in the rinse cycle and release the fabric softener. Our goal is to produce high quality products that consistently delight our consumers and I'm sorry this wasn't your experience. Please be assured I'm sharing your comments with the rest of our Downy Team. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy or that the load was too large to allow the ball to circulate freely. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. Hope this helps!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
boyforpele
Sunny Florida

Has yet to open in a wash cycle

March 7, 2011
I had used Downy balls in the past, when they were first released, and I loved them. I never had a single problem with one. I purchased one recently from Wal*Mart and after 5 loads of clothes of varying size, weight, and temperature, the ball has yet to open even once. I am using a basic GE top loading washer, using Downy fabric softener, and following all instructions. The only nice thing I can say is at least I only wasted $1.27 since I purchased at a local Wal*Mart.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By MonikaDowny TeamMarch 10, 2011
We're happy to take care of your Downy Ball for you. It's unusual to have that happen. Please call us with the Downy Ball handy at: 1-(800) 688-7638.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Striker83
Lincoln, NE

Doesn't work!!

February 7, 2011
Figured I would give it a try. The ball is very cheaply made. Tried using it five different times and it never released the fabric softner during the load. Got one of my friends who uses the ball try it out and it didn't work either. Bought a different ball and it still doesn't work.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By MonikaDowny TeamFebruary 10, 2011
I love my Downy ball. There must be something wrong. Please call us with your Downy Ball handy at: 1-800-688-7638. We can try to figure out why it's not working well for you and your friend.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Anonymous

Ruined my capris!!

November 20, 2010
I have only worn these once! Took load and put in dryer. Well when load was done in dryer I pulled clothes out to fold,etc. And all over the right leg of my capris are stained!! Dried in! They are brown so I didn't notice when still wet. This is going in trash!
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By MonikaDowny TeamNovember 29, 2010
I'm sorry you feel your capris are ruined. We're happy to help, please call us at: 1-800-688-7638. We can help with tips on how to remove fabric softener stains.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Sarah
Urbandale, IA

June 6, 2010
I hate the Downey Ball. The only reason why I keep using it is because I don't have the time to babysit my washing machine so I can add the fabric softener. It stains my clothes and doesn't open half of the time. I highly recommend using Dawn to remove the stains, works awesome!! Although I shouldn't have to wash my clothes twice just to wear them.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
judyscuba
FL

Downey Ball

April 19, 2010
Did anyone but me have trouble with the Downey staining their clothes i.e. not mixing in the rinse water? Perhaps I have to use the clear Downey with no dye.
23 of 32 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
dbeach7908
tennessee

downey ball

March 19, 2010
My husband purchased me two Downey Balls. I filled the first one with downey to the proper fill line. When I took it out of the washer it did not open up to release the softner. So I took the second ball and took the softner out of the other ball and put it into the other ball, well the other ball worked, then on the second load of laundry it did not work. Now why would it work for one load of laundry and not the second load?
My washer and dryer are in the basement and I am not going to keep going up and down the stairs to reset the washer to put in the softner, I might as well go back to the Bounce bar, put it into the dryer and forget it. Now are you going to refund me the money that I paid out for these two downey balls?
I purchased them at the Walmart store in Pulaski, Tennessee.
20 of 28 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Downy Ball
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stars
StarBerry
Ohio

Worked until i got a new washer

October 23, 2013
I loved my downey ball and have used it for years with no problems other than having to replace it every now and then. We recently got a new washer, its a little bit different than our other washer but still a top loader. Once we got the new washer the downey ball seemed to stop working. It opens fine but it dose not empty or when it does empty it empties directly onto the clothes leaving softener stains on my clothes requiring me to rewash them. I have read that alot of other people with newer washers have been having this problem as well. Is there a change in the washers causing the downey ball to no longer work as it should?
44 of 63 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Downy Ball
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stars
Anonymous
Washington State

Not 100% impressed

May 4, 2013
I used this for the first time & found some downey still in the ball plus a little water. Luckily nothing was stained & it seemed to do what it's suppose to. I'm a little leary of using it again from all the negative comments left from other people.
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Downy Ball
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stars
LaundryMom
WA

Downy ball in HE Machine?

February 16, 2013
I've recently purchased a HE Maytag, top loader washer. There isn't a fabric softener dispenser, but a Downy Ball was included to use. I find that the fabric softener isn't as effective. My load of towels come out rough feeling. Also, when I read about the Downy Ball on this site, it says it is designed for non-HE machines. I fill the Downy Ball to the line indicated. Should I put more in? Can I use 2 Downy Balls in one load?
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Downy Ball
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stars
Tee
Chicago, IL

Torn

December 2, 2012
I love the convenience of the Downy ball but I HATE when they don't open for some reason. From time to time, they don't open and end up leaking out during the spin cycle & ruin my clothes. It's times like these when I think it's worth the extra reminder to add the fabric softener and save the $35 - $100 bucks for having to replace the damaged article(s) of clothing. :/ Not to mention, having to (fearfully) run the cycle again to get the fabric softener to release so you wont have static cling.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Downy Ball
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stars
Mom
Michigan

Not Happy

October 28, 2011
We bought a new washer an H.E. One and little did I know there was no place to put the softner, so I bought a Downy Ball and it dont even open up! Is there a Downy Ball just for H.E. washers?
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care November 1, 2011
Hate to hear the Downy Ball didn't open for you. Downy Ball does not perate in all high-efficiency washing machines. You'll want to check the Use and Care Guide to see if the Downy Ball can be used. For most HE machines, use the built-in fabric conditioner dispenser instead. Hope this helps.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Downy Ball
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stars
coltsmom
Apex, NC

What happened?

September 30, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I remember using the Downy Ball years ago. I loved it. My recent washers have all had auto dispensers which I also love. I recently moved into an apartment. The washer doesn't have an auto dispenser. I thought, "No big deal, I'll go buy a Downy Ball." I ended up buying it online because none of the five stores I visited actually had any. Either way, I was very happy to receive my Downy Ball in the mail.
This new ball either doesn't open or doesn't empty. I've tried different sized loads. I'm not using the gentle cycle. It happens regardless of what I am washing (i.e. jeans, towels, t-shirts and socks, work clothes). It is only a month old so I know it isn't worn or clogged.
In their effort to save money, boost production, reduce waste, become more green ... whatever the reason ... what did Downy change that makes the Downy Ball no longer work? Please change it back. Thanks, Stacy
p.s. Yes, I'd recommend it if they change it back to one that works. :)
18 of 28 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care October 3, 2011
Hate to hear the Downy Ball isn't working as we expect. We would like to help and learn more if you could give us a call at (800) 688-7638. Thanks for stopping by!
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care October 3, 2011
Hate to hear the Downy Ball isn't working as we expect. We would like to help and learn more if you could give us a call at (800) 688-7638. Thanks for stopping by!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
«prev12345...7next»