Printer
Downy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DOWNY The Downy Ball

DOWNY The Downy Ball

Make softness simple with our easy-to-use fabric softener dispenser. Simply fill it up and toss on top of your fabrics before each load.
Average Customer Rating:
3.489 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (133 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
35
91 out of 133(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Downy does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for The Downy Ball
Review 61 for The Downy Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
butterflies974
Carrollton, MI

Love the Downy Ball! Can't find one to buy!

September 12, 2011
Over the years, I have used the Downy Ball. I absolutely love it. Just one problem,,,,I cannot find it in any of my local stores! Help!
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for The Downy Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Nana
Columbus, OH

September 15, 2011
I have been using this item since they came out. I am on my second one and looking to get another one. The top of the one I have now is all warped but I am still using it. This is the best thing since peanut butter.
Love it -- need to get ones for the women in my family. They keep trying to take mine. The easiest thing to use. Love it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
TM
High Point, NC

This one isn't working the same

September 25, 2011
I have always loved the Downey Ball since it came out..I purchased a new one when I moved into my apartment. And this is the first one, that the cork, or stopper, (not sure what you call it) did not come out. All the others that I had, you would pull the stopper completely out, fill, and push it back in..I have been so unhappy with this one. When I fill it, and toss it in, so many times, the softner doesn't all come out, and most of the time, when I pull it out of laundry, it is opened, but none of the fabric softner comes out. Or what is even worse..is the fabric softner might come all out onto one of the articles of clothing..and if I didn't notice it, until I fold my laundry, I have a big spot of blue on an article of clothing, or a towel or what ever I maybe washing. I had complained about this, and they were nice enough to send my coupons to buy another one. But I didn't...because all the Downey Balls are just like that.. I just want one that was made like it was when it first came out. Is that possible?
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care September 27, 2011
I'm sorry the Downy Ball isn't opening like it should. We'd like to learn more about what's happening and make a report to our quality team. Can you give us a call at (800) 688-7638 when you have a chance? Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for The Downy Ball
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
stars
grammabebe
Phoenix AZ

Downey Ball in HE washer

September 27, 2011
I have a brand new Maytag Top loading he washer--have never used a downey ball before but since one came in here( there is no other dispenser) guess I have no choice since it is hard to catch the rinse cycle-
The ball rarely empties all the way-- why is this?
And can I put vinegar in the ball and use the same way as I use downey - I use vinegar with my towels as downey makes them not near as absorbent as they should be
Thanks for your answers
8 of 17 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for The Downy Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Linda
Dundalk, Md.

Love it!

September 28, 2011
I love my Downey Ball. I have used it since it first came out, as I can never remember the rinse cycle. I would love to get another one, but I'm having trouble finding them. The website gives a list of stores in my area that they say sells them. But every store I've gone to says that they don't sell them. What's the deal? You really need to up-date your list.
17 of 26 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for The Downy Ball
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stars
coltsmom
Apex, NC

What happened?

September 30, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I remember using the Downy Ball years ago. I loved it. My recent washers have all had auto dispensers which I also love. I recently moved into an apartment. The washer doesn't have an auto dispenser. I thought, "No big deal, I'll go buy a Downy Ball." I ended up buying it online because none of the five stores I visited actually had any. Either way, I was very happy to receive my Downy Ball in the mail.
This new ball either doesn't open or doesn't empty. I've tried different sized loads. I'm not using the gentle cycle. It happens regardless of what I am washing (i.e. jeans, towels, t-shirts and socks, work clothes). It is only a month old so I know it isn't worn or clogged.
In their effort to save money, boost production, reduce waste, become more green ... whatever the reason ... what did Downy change that makes the Downy Ball no longer work? Please change it back. Thanks, Stacy
p.s. Yes, I'd recommend it if they change it back to one that works. :)
18 of 28 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care October 3, 2011
Hate to hear the Downy Ball isn't working as we expect. We would like to help and learn more if you could give us a call at (800) 688-7638. Thanks for stopping by!
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care October 3, 2011
Hate to hear the Downy Ball isn't working as we expect. We would like to help and learn more if you could give us a call at (800) 688-7638. Thanks for stopping by!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for The Downy Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
John_H
Roanoke, VA

New ball worked despite my worries

October 2, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Having read other reviews here, I was worried. I've used the Downy Ball in the past and loved the convenience for washers without dispensers. I was sad to see the number of reviews of people having problems and was worried that changes in manufacture or materials ended up "losing the recipe."
But my Downy Ball works just as I expected, thank goodness! I found one at the mart with the great big "W" after looking through some smaller stores in the "where to buy" list with no luck.
Tips:
o Trouble seeing the fill lines on the ball? Fill the Downy cap first where you can see the lines, then dump it into the ball.
o Don't over-stuff the washer since the ball wants to end up farther to the outside during the spin cycle.
o It's not the water pressure that pops the ball open, it's the speed of the spin that allows the weight to "pull" the stopper out so if there's anything that would keep the ball too close to the center during the spin or if the spin is too tame after the wash, the ball may not open correctly.
o The first few times you use the ball, open the washer during the drain before the pre-rinse spin to see if the ball is free to move, allowing it to push to the outside during the spin.
o When rinse starts to fill, you should find the ball open; the Downy might not be "thick" but has been released and mixed with some water.
o If the ball hasn't opened when the rinse begins *take it out*! You wouldn't want it to open during the spin after the rinse.
I'm just another customer who loves using Downy but I'm also an engineer who appreciates the design of a great little item like the Downy ball. It's the spin, not the pressure, that makes this little beauty work so well. If your washer is spin-challenged, try to figure out if there are different settings since a "gentle wash" might not spin hard enough.
Happy softening!
23 of 30 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
rt
tn

try and find a new downey ball in the stores

October 24, 2011
you can find on line if you want to pay almost $7 for shipping for a $1.49 downey ball....really?
9 of 17 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care October 26, 2011
I'm so sorry you're having trouble finding the Downy Ball in your area. We'd really like to help. Please give us a call at (800) 688-7638 when you have a chance. Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for The Downy Ball
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stars
Mom
Michigan

Not Happy

October 28, 2011
We bought a new washer an H.E. One and little did I know there was no place to put the softner, so I bought a Downy Ball and it dont even open up! Is there a Downy Ball just for H.E. washers?
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care November 1, 2011
Hate to hear the Downy Ball didn't open for you. Downy Ball does not perate in all high-efficiency washing machines. You'll want to check the Use and Care Guide to see if the Downy Ball can be used. For most HE machines, use the built-in fabric conditioner dispenser instead. Hope this helps.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for The Downy Ball
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stars
Anonymous
Plover, WI

Trouble finding new Downy Balls

October 29, 2011
We think that the downy ball works well. Ours stopped letting all of the liquid out. It only lets half out. We are not able to find them in any of the stores on the list. We think that this is a good product otherwise.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Kelly
Denver

Doesn't open

November 12, 2011
I used the Downy ball a few years ago and had no problems with it. I bought another one about 2 months ago, and I would say it doesn't open on about 8 out of 10 washes. Good thing I still have a large pack of dryer sheets from Costco, because that is what I have to use instead. I love the way my laundry smells the few times that the ball does work, but due to the high failure rate, I think I will stick with the sheets. I live in dry Colorado, so I need all of the help I can get with static!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By JennyDowny TeamNovember 15, 2011
I am sorry the Downy ball is not opening. Please give us a call at (800) 688-7638 so we can help.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for The Downy Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Karen
Irvine, CA

WHERE TO BUY A DOWNEY BALL!!!!!

November 18, 2011
I had been searching for months, looking for the Downey Ball and I finally found one nationwide chain that carries it online. The big W that ends with mart. Online only. Here's how to find it in there: Go to All Departments, then click "grocery and pets", then click "laundry room", then you scroll down until you see the blue bar that says "shop top brands", then under that you click the picture that says "shop Downey", then what I did was to click the little box that says "best selling" and changed it to "from lowest to highest price" and THERE IT WAS!, the first one on the list for $2.49 plus 97 cents shipping. WARNING!-- Do not use the search box, it will not pull up the ball- I tried to pull it up about 5 different ways and it did not work. So Do Not Use!!!
Good Luck and Happy Hunting!
21 of 23 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for The Downy Ball
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
GLJezebel
Carrollton, TX

My Downy Ball doesn't work

November 20, 2011
I have used a Downy Ball for years and years and loved it. 3 weeks ago I moved to a new apartment with a brand new washer and dryer. The first night I did a load of laundry and used my Downy Ball. It was a small load of laundry and I used the Large setting on the washer. When the washer finished I noticed that all of the Downy liquid was in the bottom of the washer. I thought it was a fluke and didn't think much of it when I did the next load. Unfortunately, the result was the same. I am a single person and I do not have large loads of laundry. I have since done many loads of laundry, all with the same result. I don't understand why my Downy Ball has suddenly stopped working properly. The ball is clean with no gunk or residue on any part of it. I guess I have to give up on my Downy Ball.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care November 22, 2011
I'm sorry your Downy Ball didn’t open in the rinse cycle and release the fabric softener. During the first spin after the wash cycle, the Downy Ball is designed to go to the bottom of the wash tub. This is where the pressure of the water filling in for the rinse cycle opens the ball to release the softener. It's possible the rinse cycle didn’t fill the ball with enough water to release the Downy. You may want to check to see that the Downy Ball hasn’t become clogged with residue where it opens. If that has happened, clean the ball by using 3-4 drops of liquid laundry detergent, like Tide, and fill to the top with warm tap water. Close the dispenser, making sure the stopper fits tightly, and shake gently. Allow it to sit for several hours, then rinse with clear tap water, and repeat if necessary. If you still have further problems, give us a call at (800) 688-7638. Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for The Downy Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Charli
Grand Rapids, MI

LOVED mine!

November 29, 2011
I got a Downy Ball immediately when they came out. It seems I even got the first one free? I am HORRIBLE at catching the rinse cycle! That ball helped so much. I no longer forgot my softener! Alas, it wore out. I bought another. I used one for every load until (YAY HUBBY!) I was given an HE washer and dryer. I still have my ball though. Just in case!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for The Downy Ball
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
stars
Dani
PA

Downy ball

December 11, 2011
Every time my husband & I go home to visit my in laws & my mother in law does my husbands wash, my husband comes home commenting on how good his clothes smell, wanting to know why I can't get his clothes to smell that good! I tell him I've tried! I bought the downy ball years ago to achieve this for him but it only stained our clothes (and yes I followed instructions to a T!). On our way to the store now to try this again......fingers crossed :)
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care December 14, 2011
We appreciate your review and I'm sorry you've experienced staining in your laundry with the Downy Ball. While it's rare for Downy to stain, it can happen if undiluted softener comes into direct contact with the fabrics in your washload. This could be due to a faulty Downy Ball opening too soon. I'm glad you're going to give it another try and hope you let us know how it works.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for The Downy Ball
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
stars
Anonymous

sometimes works, but othertimes stains the clothes

January 17, 2012
I got a Downy Ball when we moved into our apartment because our washing machine doesn't have a dispensor in it. For several months the ball has worked great, but just recently I've noticed that sometimes it works, but then other times it just dumps undiluted Downy over the clothes and stains them. I don't know why sometimes it works and other times it doesn't when I use it the same way every time. I've been resorting to adding water to the ball to dilute the Downy, but even that didn't work for my last load of laundry. It's a pain to have to wash clothes again because they are stained. And recently I got Downy without dyes and perfumes, and it went on my whites to where I couldn't see it, but could feel it on the clothes. Why does the ball work sometimes and not other times?
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for The Downy Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
Kanela
Miami, FL

I LOVE IT, since the first time I used it

January 19, 2012
I am brand loyal and i love Downy. I used the ball since it came out and i gave it as gift to my friends....
Even the new washers with the center compartment for the fabric softener dont work like this wonderful ball.
My old one is getting old and I am having a hard time finding a replacement but i will not give up....I need it!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for The Downy Ball
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
stars
Lou
Portsmouth, NH

Good product

January 29, 2012
My wife and I have used Downy balls for a long time. Like a previous reviewer, we have had recent problems with staining. I suspect the seal on the top of the ball is gone. I will check our local stores to find another one - it is quite convenient.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Downy:By DeeConsumer Care February 9, 2012
Sorry you're having trouble with the Downy Ball. Let us know if you continue to have staining with the new one and we'll be happy to help! Our number is (800) 688-7638. Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for The Downy Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stars
muchahca
laporte in

nobody sales the ball

February 25, 2012
ok i live in a some what small town i have looked at all the stores i can not find the downy ball. i really need a new one cause after a couple of months you need to buy a new one.... please help me get a new downy ball
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for The Downy Ball
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stars
vsg
las vegas, nv

can't find one in stores

March 1, 2012
Where are the downy balls sold? I can only find them online & I think its ridiculous to pay $5 shipping for a $2 item..ive searched targets and walmarts in my area and cannot find these.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.