Printer
Downy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DOWNY Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid

DOWNY Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid

Feel more connected with Ultra Downy April Fresh, the sun-kissed, floral scent thats been in homes for generations.
Average Customer Rating:
1.257 out of 5
1.3
 out of 
5
(1278 Reviews) 1252
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,278 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
18
3 stars
13
2 stars
17
1 star
1,172
124 out of 1,278(10%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Downy does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
Review 261 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
taspki
Seattle, WA

New April Fresh Downy

September 5, 2010
Your "New" April Fresh Downy smells terrible!!! I loved the smell of the old April Fresh Downy - why would you change it when it smelled so great? I tried to give this product zero stars in my rating, but it wouldn't allow it, or I would have. I am changing fabric softeners because no one in my family likes the new smell. I really hope you will bring the old version back, and soon.
52 of 52 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 262 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Donna

What happened?

September 8, 2010
I couldn't rate this new scent with even 1 star. Why was the scent changed? The new scent pearls make my favorite April Fresh Downy STINK. I bought a bottle and I just don't want to use it anymore. Please bring the old scent back! There was nothing wrong with it! You don't need scent pearls to make the smell of Downy last. Please bring back my old Downy or I may have to switch fabric softeners.
51 of 51 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 263 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Hannahsmom
Albany, NY

Horrid!

September 8, 2010
The "new" April Fresh scent is horrible! I refuse to buy it! I have been a loyal customer since day one and have always told all my friends and family to use Downy! Not anymore! If I could have given this product zero stars to would have! Unto my search for a replacement product... sigh...
51 of 51 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 264 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Marie
Fresno, Ca

September 6, 2010
Please change your Downy April Fresh back to the old scent!! The new April Fresh scent is really bad. For over 10 years I've only used the the April Fresh scent and now I am forced to find something else.
51 of 51 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 265 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Beach
Redondo Beach, CA

HATE the New Smell

September 1, 2010
I have used April Fresh Downy for as long as I can remember and love it. I hate the new smell, it is really strong and over powering. As a family we have decided to discontinue using Downy all together. If the old April Fresh comes back we will gladly start using it again...Too Bad!!
51 of 51 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 266 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
TREE
Atlanta

Hate it!

September 8, 2010
I'm all for trying new products, but I didn't realize when I purchased the New April Fresh Downy with pearl beads that it was going to have such a strong odor. The previous April Fresh had a nice clean "Fresh" not too heavy scent. If I wanted my laundry to have a stronger smell, I would have bought some of the other scents or one of the competitors products. We ask that you please bring back the old April Fresh scent. In the meantime, I guess I'll have to search for a different product that doesn't make my laundry smell like it's been doused with perfume.
50 of 50 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 267 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
hatenewscentedpearls
covington, LA

not even worth one star

September 6, 2010
we loved the old downy april fresh...some women wear a signature scent, we wore downy april fresh. friends and family all commented on how much they loved it when we washed their clothes. we've recently moved into a new house and were excited to realize we had space to store the largest container, but within one load we knew that we'd made a mistake. when we looked at the container and saw the "NEW" renewing pearls we rushed out to buy another container of the "old" product. we ***HATE*** the new scent and will be switching brands until it's changed back.
48 of 48 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 268 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
ashley
iowa

the "new and improved" ultra downy

August 28, 2010
I am SO SO SO very glad to read that there are others who feel the same way I do. This is AWFUL!! The smell of downy is the smell of "home" in my household and it smells like anything but the last few days. Why do companies always insist on improving products that need absolutely NO improving. The original downy april fresh was one of the best smells in the entire world, and now, it's unbearable. In the last six months I have had my body wash, my shampoo, and my fabric freshener I have used for YEARS all completely change their formulas, now my fabric softener, too?? PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE fix this, after 24 years of using the same detergent and softener, how will I ever find a different brand?? People have their own unique scents and april fresh downy definitely played a big part in my scent. Please don't take this away from us.
48 of 48 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 269 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
nolongerusePG
wisconsin

formulation change

July 11, 2010
I have to put my disappointment in writing. When you changed the formulation, you forced me to search for a new fabric softener after using your product since I was a child. Please bring back the older formulation, with the tallow. PLEASE!!!
48 of 48 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 270 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
caycee
Albany, NY

A sad day in the laundry room !!!

August 24, 2010
This new product is horrendous, the smell is awful and somehow you end up with the taste in your mouth. The scent is overpowering with a very offensive perfume scent. Oh my goodness, why would you mess with perfection? Multiple generations in my family have used Downy April Fresh and I have used it in my own home since 1975, this is the first time in 35 years I will be looking for a new product. I had to rewash all my clothes twice in order to get the smell out. I will be throwing away the extra large bottle that I purchased because I no longer have the receipt.
46 of 46 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 271 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
NONE

AWFUL

September 1, 2010
What in the world did you do to April Fresh Downy??? I have used it for years and the new smell is horrible!!! Who wants to walk around with their clothes smelling like a piece of candy. Laundry is not supposed to smell sweet. I don't know what in the world made the Downy company change the wonderful smell of April Fresh but please change it back!!!
45 of 45 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 272 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
sosadandsmellinbadintc
traverse city, michigan

Bring back the real April Fresh Downy!

July 21, 2010
The mom with the best smelling laundry in Traverse City has been dealt a terrible blow. The new April fresh scent is DISGUSTING. My mom used Downey and I have used it exclusively in my household for 23 years and use ALOT of it. It is the scent that defines what my family smells like. Our friends know our beach towels by the scent.
What were you thinking? Remember the NEW Coke and what happened? I can assure you that I will be shopping around for a new fabric softener and not using any Downy products again. I already returned the "new" scent back to the store. We couldn't sleep on our sheets. YUCK!!!!!
Please reconsider and bring back the original scent. I am sure I wouldn't be the only grateful consumer.
44 of 44 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 273 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stars
Franticmom
Maryland

Where is the Downy I remember and love?

July 15, 2010
I have been loving the april fresh scent of downy since I was a kid and my mother used it. Most laundry products have such strong scents that I even use unscented on all my other laundry products. I continued using downy because the clothes feel soft and the gentle scent of april fresh is so nice and just makes the clothes smell clean. Downy used to remind me of home and my mother, but now it has a strong and fruity smell to me. Unless you change it back, I'm afraid that the scent that has been in homes for generations is lost forever and I may sadly be looking for a new fabric softener.Please bring back the original formula!!!!
44 of 44 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 274 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Rtraf03
North Huntingdon

New Downy stinks

September 4, 2010
I, too, cannot take the new smell of the new Downy. If it doesn't change back quick, I will be buying something else. What were you thinking?
43 of 43 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 275 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
lauriemont
Nunda, NY

HATE it!!

September 1, 2010
I have used Downy April Fresh for as long as I can remember. I have always loved the subtle smell. Now it is so strong and the scent is different. PLEASE please bring back the old scent. The new smells like perfume! It stinks!!! Now after at least 30 years I have to look for a new fabric softener. : (
43 of 43 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 276 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Rainer
New Mexico

New April Fresh version is AWFUL. Hate it!!

September 5, 2010
Downy, Downy, Downy...what were you thinking? The April Fresh smell was the reason all of us have purchased this for years & years! Why would you change the smell and formula? This "new" version is overly thick, smells disgusting and you have ruined a classic product! I will never buy Downy again. P & G...read all these reviews, there are tons of angry and upset customers!!
42 of 42 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 277 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
pwestcot
Virginia

reformulated April Fresh scent w/ pearls

August 26, 2010
I/my family dislike the reformulated scent. Way too strong. If this is "new and improved", how to get the old and unimproved version back?
42 of 42 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 278 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
nomoredowny
kentucky

WILL NEVER BUY DOWNY AGAIN!

August 24, 2010
All the downy's stink and everyone that I have talked to said they will never buy this nasty smelling stuff again. Even the other options stink and i threw all mine away. Even the tide with downy changed and its terrible. I guess the cheaper brands are better because they never change. I have switched to gain now because when they say the same original freshness, it is the same original freshness. This doesnt surprise me. Why can't they just leave things alone!
42 of 42 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 279 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Coco
Salt Lake City

WHY DID YOU CHANGE THE SMELL?

August 15, 2010
We have been using April Fresh Downey for 30 years because of the wonderful smell. Why did you change it? It wasn't broken and it did not need improving. I strongly recommned you changing it back to the smell we all know and love. We can not stand the new smell - it really stinks!
42 of 42 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 280 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
midnight
SPRING GROVE, IL

APRIL FRESH DOWNEY

July 21, 2010
PLEASE GO BACK TO THE ORIGINAL APRIL FRESH DOWNEY. THE NEW FORMULA WITH PEARLS ABSOLUTLY STINK TO HIGH HEAVEN!!! TRY TO REMEMBER YOUR CUSTOMERS AS THEY ARE SUPPORTING YOUR LIFESTYLE!!! IF IT WORKS, DON'T FIX IT. THANKS
42 of 42 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
«prev1...1213141516...63next»