Printer
Downy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DOWNY Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid

DOWNY Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid

Feel more connected with Ultra Downy April Fresh, the sun-kissed, floral scent thats been in homes for generations.
Average Customer Rating:
1.258 out of 5
1.3
 out of 
5
(1276 Reviews) 1250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,276 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
18
3 stars
13
2 stars
17
1 star
1,170
124 out of 1,276(10%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Downy does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
Review 81 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Susano
Lee's Summit MO

bring back my DOWNY

October 19, 2010
I have used Downy for over 25 years and am very disappointed by the 'new' scent pearls. The scent is overwhelming no matter how little you use. My whole house smells when I use it and the air outside smell as well when the dry vents it out. My skin took on the scent after my first load. I finally figured out it was coming off my clothes and onto my skin. I am not a perfume wearer and if I was I really don't want to smell like fabric softener. Please please please bring back my old Downy smell........ I really don't want to have to switch to another brand.
292 of 292 found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
LindaT
Springfield, MO

Hate the change

October 12, 2010
April Fresh Downy was great. I've used it for years. My daughter is very sensitive to smells and now her clothes all "stink". Why try to fix what isn't broken? Go back to the original April Fresh.
283 of 283 found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Candy
Ohio

"New" April Fresh Downy

September 29, 2010
I bought a bottle of the Pink Cap April Fresh Downy and when I used it in a load of clothes I could not believe it was the same Downy I was used to. It was so bad I rewashed the load of clothes to try and get the smell out and I threw out the remainder of the bottle. I have used Downy for years and just love the smell it left on my clothes and towels. But I will never use the new scent pearls again. I spent the day at the store smelling every kind of fabric softener and did not like any of them. So please reconsider and bring back the "old" smell. Change the design on the bottle, or the color, but leave the product alone. I have purchased all the old bottles of April Fresh Downy from four local stores, but when they run out, I'm done with Downy!
279 of 279 found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
BarbB
Leechburg, PA

Ultra Downy April Fresh

September 29, 2010
I am very disappointed that the scent for April Fresh Downy was changed.
The new scent is over powering and smells like berries or sometimes like burnt sugar.
I complained to P&G and was told to try the dryer sheets as the scent hadn't changed in them but they do not smell the same to me either.
I tried to access other comments on the product but only 2 show up on the website and when I click on see all reviews, I am taken to reviews of the downy ball instead.
Please bring back the old Downy April Fresh scent.
276 of 277 found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
atlc
Minnesota

Hate the New Scent

October 19, 2010
Every time I do laundry I get angry. The april fresh scent with new scent pearls is horrible. I bought a large bottle as it is more economical and it is terrible. I have looked in many stores hoping to find and old tried and true bottle with no luck! Help, give us back the original scent Please... as I will not purchase this new one ever again. I would rather do without.
272 of 273 found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
DisappointedInNC

No!

September 29, 2010
I just opened a new bottle of my beloved Downy April Fresh and I was so disappointed to smell that the scent has been changed! WHY? After decades of that same wonderful, refreshing scent, why would you change it? Please go back to the original!
269 of 270 found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
AnnG
PA

WHAT HAPPENED TO THE APRIL FRESHNESS????

September 24, 2010
I ran out of Downy and bought a new bottle, now w/ 'Scent pearls'. Those things have taken away the familiar, clean april freshness :(...it's smells so icky now. BRING BACK THE APRIL FRESHNESS!!
269 of 270 found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
sad1
AL

OUT WITH THE NEW.....IN WITH THE OLD!!!!

September 29, 2010
The new April Fresh scent is awful. PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD APRIL FRESH SCENT!!!
266 of 266 found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
EllenS
Maryland

Downy April Fresh Scent Pearls

October 24, 2010
I cannot stand the new smell. It's no longer fresh smelling, just a perfumey smell. After using Downy April Fresh for 20 years, I can barely make it through one week with the new Downy. I don't like my towels, clothes, and bedding smelling like I dumped a bunch of perfume on them instead of washing them.
262 of 262 found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
kitty
Il

Downy Fabric Softener

September 24, 2010
I have used Downy fabric softner for years but since
you have changed to this new New Nouveau Sents I cannot stand the smell. They all stick terrible. Please change back to what it was. I am having a terrible time trying to find something else but refuse to buy Downy. It is truly awful. I long for my April Fresh.
Kitty, Illinois
261 of 261 found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Brenda2343
South Carolina

New Scent is Awful

September 24, 2010
I have to say this new scent is so overpowering that I had to open the windows to try and get the smell out of my house. I used the new scent on one load of clothes that I had to rewash to remove the smell. I don't understand why you would change such a wonderful product - "original" is "original", not "new." If you wanted to introduce a new fragrence then introduce a new fragrence - but the original should not be changed, especially one that was such a success.
I was forced to enter a rating before I could post my comment - one star is too generous.
I'm sure the makers of Snuggle are glad because it seems you're sending them some new business.
252 of 252 found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
MARMIE
indy

PLEASE LISTEN TO US!

September 23, 2010
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE LISTEN TO ALL OF THE REMARKS FROM THE PEOPLE ON HERE WHO PURCHASE YOUR PRODUCT AND BRING BACK THE OLD SCENT. REMEMBER, THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT, AND FROM THE LOOKS OF THE COMMENTS ON HERE, WE ARE ALL IN AGREEMENT THAT WE HATE THE NEW SMELL. IT IS TRULY AWFUL!!! I DON'T KNOW ABOUT ANYONE ELSE, BUT I DO NOT PURCHASE YOUR PRODUCT ANYMORE AND WILL NOT UNLESS YOU CHANGE IT BACK. IT USED TO BE THE ONE SCENT YOU COULD NOT FIND ON THE SHELVES BECAUSE OF IT'S POPULARITY AND NOW THE SHELVES ARE STOCKED FULL BECAUSE IT'S HORRIBLE
247 of 247 found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
MadOldLady
Albuquerque, NM

IT STINKS!

October 24, 2010
I have used the "Old" April Fresh Downy for as long as I can remember because I loved the way it smelled. I will switch to another fabric softner until the "old" smell is resurrected. Please do it soon!
245 of 245 found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
kmd25
Winnipeg, Manitoba

I hate the smell of the new Scent Pearls!

October 23, 2010
What have you done???!!! I have been doing my laundry with Downy for the last 35 years because I love the smell of the the original scent. I always tell my husband that it was one of the reasons I fell in love with him -- his mom used Downy and his t-shirts smelled so good! These new scent pearls in the April Fresh Downy smell sickenly sweet and not at all like the clean, fresh smell I have always loved. If you don't give me back my old Downy fragrance, I'm switching fabric softeners!
242 of 243 found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Jessica297
New York

new april fresh

October 24, 2010
It smells nothing like the old april fresh. It smells terrible. I'm highly disappointed in it.
241 of 241 found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Artsmom
Dillon, SC

April Fresh "New Scent"

September 27, 2010
I cannot believe that after all these years you would add new "scent pearls" to a product that has been tried and true for so many years! What were you all thinking???? This new version of April Fresh smells terrible and very, very cheap. I will not buy anymore of this, of this you can be sure. Your products are over-priced to begin with, but most of us continue to purchase them because we know and appreciate the clean, fresh scent they provide. Now, we may as well purchase the "cheap stuff" and save some money in the process.
240 of 241 found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
kate1136
Ridley, PA

The Worst "Improvement" ever!!!

September 29, 2010
I have been usin April Fres scented Downey for more that 25 years and have always been pleased with the softness and the scent.My laundry has always had a clean, fresh smell that was not over powering. The new Downey with Freshness Pearls is a HUGH dissapointment. My laundry smells so bad that my children keep putting clean clothes back in the hamper and telling me it smells sour. I do not need a fabric softner that smells like a cheap air freshner and overpowers every scent in the house. Please give us back our original "April Fresh" scent!! I will not be using downy again until it returns to the original soft scent.
239 of 240 found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Anonymous
Minnesota

Hate the new scent

September 30, 2010
I am 52 years old and as far back as I can remember, I've used Downy's April Fresh. Imagine my surprise when I opened a new bottle and it took me a full evening to get the smell out of my laundry room. It reeks to high heaven and if I'd only known this was going to happen I'd have been stock pilling it. I have very sensitive skin and most of my clothes get hung outside so the dryer sheets are no good to me either. My son is the same way. I have looked around and found 12 boxes of the old. I'll keep looking for those who don't have the "New and Improved" yet.
It didn't need fixing. I could cry. I guess I'll have to go to the Snuggly Bear now. It's the only one that doesn't smell like perfume.
Please oh please bring the old back. Keep the new one as an added scent but please bring those of us that want it the old one that we love and miss.
238 of 238 found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
Roxa
Quad Cities, IA-IL

new April Fresh

October 19, 2010
I am switching to a different brand - the one that smells as close to the April Fresh of old. This new one is horrible! Unfortunately I bought it again thinking that I must have bought the wrong one before but realize this new and improved is not. Please go back to the gentle, wonderful, soft smelling April Fresh - the way it used to be.
237 of 237 found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stars
DisappointedinOHIO
Solon

You tricked me and I'm disappointed

September 27, 2010
I recently purchased a new bottle of Downy april fresh fabric softener to prepare for the winter static clean. . . What happened to the scent. Its very perfumy (and strong at that) I feel like I was "tricked" into buying a new product. You packaged this scent in an "April Fresh" blue bottle with a pink cap. If I'd wanted another scent I would have picked another color cap. But I was trying to buy my old tried and true April Fresh Downy. I won't be buying your product again. Fortunately, I purchased a rather small bottle, but I'm not sure I can even get through that because of the strong, perfumy scent. I'm disappointed that you changed the scent AND I'm disappointed that you tricked me.
232 of 232 found this review helpful.
«prev1...34567...63next»